Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Rowan County, Kentucky

Rowan county is in the Eastern Coal Field region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 625 to 1435 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1856 from Fleming and Morgan counties. The county seat is Morehead. Rowan county was a source of Beckham (1904) county.

In 2020 the county population was 24,662 in a land area of 279.80 square miles, an average of 88.1 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,000 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Rowan county is in the Gateway Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Rowan county was named to honor John Rowan, representative and senator.

Most of the county is within the Daniel Boone National Forest.

Census Census Data Rowan County Seat Rowan County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Haldeman, Kentucky Lakeview Heights, Kentucky Morehead, Kentucky Lewis County, Kentucky Elliott County, Kentucky Carter County, Kentucky Morgan County, Kentucky Menifee County, Kentucky Bath County, Kentucky Fleming County, Kentucky

© 2023 David C. Elbon