Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Boone Station, Kentucky
Boone Station, Kentucky

Boone Station was a Fayette county community about 12 miles southeast from the center of Lexington on the Baughman Fork (also spelled Boffman or Boofman Fork) of Boone Creek. It was established by Daniel Boone circa 1782 when he and some of his family moved from nearby Boonesborough. Boone moved to Maysville in 1786 and most residents left Boone Station before 1800. The town of Athens was established about a half mile away in 1826.

A Boons Station post office apparently operated in 1812 and 1813.

The old Boone Station State Historic Site on Gentry Road marked the approximate site of the settlement.

Floracliff Nature Sanctuary Talon Winery Hootentown, Kentucky Locust Grove, Kentucky Walnut Hill, Kentucky High Point in Fayette County Saint HubertÂ’'s Episcopal Church Coletown, Kentucky Iroquois Hunt Club Walnut Hill Church Spears, Kentucky Clays Ferry, Kentucky Boonesborough, Kentucky Becknerville, Kentucky Centerville, Kentucky Chilesburg, Kentucky Lexington, Kentucky Boone Station Athens, Kentucky

© 2024 David C. Elbon