Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Chickasaw Territory – Jackson Purchase
Chickasaw Territory

The land west of the Tennessee River and south of the Ohio was regarded as Chickasaw territory during the early and pre-statehood period. In 1818 Isaac Shelby and Andrew Jackson negotiated the purchase of the region in western Kentucky and western Tennessee, about 6,000 square miles, from the Chickasaw for $300,000. The Kentucky land was initially an extension to Christian county, but was later subdivided into several counties. This part of Kentucky is known as the Jackson Purchase.

Washington County Breckinridge County Ohio County Green County Henry County Franklin County Shelby County Gallatin County Barren County Warren County Logan County Henderson County Chickasaw Territory Livingston County Christian County Cumberland County Jefferson County Garrard County Madison County Madison County Clark County Woodford County /21113.html Bourbon County Harrison County Fayette County Pendleton County Mercer County Boone County Campbell County Lincoln County Pulaski County Nicholas County Bracken County Knox County Montgomery County Fleming County Mason County Floyd County Scott County

© 2018 David C. Elbon