Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Clark County, Kentucky

Clark county is in the Outer Bluegrass region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 549 to 1120 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1793 from Bourbon and Fayette counties. Clark county was a source of Montgomery (1797), Estill (1808), and Powell (1852) counties. The county seat is Winchester.

In 2020 the county population was 36,972 in a land area of 252.46 square miles, an average of 146.4 people per square mile.

The equine population was 2,200 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Clark county is in the Lexington-Fayette metro statistical area and the Bluegrass Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Clark county was named to honor General George Rogers Clark, who served in the American Revolution. The name was usually spelled Clarke before 1850.

Census Census Data Clark County Details Kentucky Counties Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Adair County Allen County Anderson County Ballard County Barren County Bath County Bell County Boone County Bourbon County Boyd County Boyle County Bracken County Breathitt County Breckinridge County Bullitt County Butler County Caldwell County Calloway County Campbell County Carlisle County Carroll County Carter County Casey County Christian County Clark County Clay County Clinton County Crittendon County Cumberland County Edmonson County Elliott County Estill County Fayette County Fleming County Floyd County Franklin County Gallatin County Fulton County Garrard County Grant County Graves County Grayson County Green County Greenup County Hancock County Hardin County Harlan County Harrison County Hart County Henderson County Henry County Hopkins County Jackson County Jefferson County Jessamine County Johnson County Kenton County Knott County Knox County LaRue County Laurel County Lawrence County Lee County Leslie County Letcher County Lewis County Lincoln County Livingston County Logan County Lyon County McCracken County McCreary County McLean County Madison County Magoffin County Marion County Marshall County Mason County Martin County Meade County Menifee County Mercer County Metcalfe County Monroe County Montgomery County Morgan County Muhlenberg County Nelson County Nicholas County Ohio County Oldham County Owen County Owsley County Pendleton County Perry County Pike County Powell County Pulaski County Robertson County Rockcastle County Rowan County Russell County Scott County Shelby County Simpson County Spencer County Taylor County Todd County Trigg County Trimble County Union County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Webster County Whitley County Wolfe County Woodford County Daviess County Hickman County State of West Virginia State of Ohio Commonwealth of Virginia State of Tennessee State of Missouri State of Illinois State of Indiana

© 2023 David C. Elbon