Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Beckham County, Kentucky
Beckham County, Kentucky

Beckham County was created in February 1904 from parts of Carter, Elliott, Lewis, and Rowan counties and named for J.C.W. Beckham, then governor. The county seat was Olive Hill. It was dissolved in April the same year by a court ruling. It covered about 286 square miles, short of the constitutionally required minimum of 400 square miles for new counties. It also failed the 12,000 minimum population test. The boundary shown on the map is approximate.

Olive Hill, Kentucky Morehead, Kentucky Fleming County, Kentucky Rowan County, Kentucky Lewis County, Kentucky Elliott County, Kentucky Carter County, Kentucky Greenup County, Kentucky

© 2023 David C. Elbon