Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Franklin County, Kentucky

Franklin county is in the Inner Bluegrass region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 455 to 930 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1795 from Mercer, Shelby, and Woodford counties. The county seat is Frankfort. Franklin county was a source of Gallatin (1799), Owen (1819), and Anderson (1827) counties.

In 2020 the county population was 51,541 in a land area of 207.75 square miles, an average of 248.1 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,200 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Franklin county is in the Frankfort micro statistical area and the Bluegrass Area Development District.

Franklin county was named to honor Benjamin Franklin.

Frankfort is the capital of Kentucky.

Census Census Data Franklin County Seat Franklin County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Frankfort, Kentucky Bridgeport, Kentucky Switzer, Kentucky Peaks Mill, Kentucky Forks of Elkhorn, Kentucky Scott County, Kentucky Woodford County, Kentucky Anderson County, Kentucky Owen County, Kentucky Shelby County, Kentucky Henry County, Kentucky

© 2023 David C. Elbon