Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Green County, Kentucky

Green county is in the Pennyrile region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 490 to 1045 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1793 from Lincoln and Nelson counties. The county seat is Greensburg. Green county was a source of Barren (1799), Pulaski (1799), Cumberland (1799), Wayne (1801), Adair (1802), Taylor (1848), and Metcalfe (1860) counties.

In 2020 the county population was 11,107 in a land area of 286.03 square miles, an average of 38.8 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,100 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Green county is in the Campbellsville micro statistical area and the Lake Cumberland Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Green county was named for General Nathanael Greene, a Quaker from Rhode Island who commanded the American southern army at the end of the Revolution.

Census Census Data Green County Seat Green County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Greensburg, Kentucky Metcalfe County, Kentucky Adair County, Kentucky Taylor County, Kentucky LaRue County, Kentucky Hart County, Kentucky

© 2023 David C. Elbon