Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Nelson County, Kentucky

Nelson county is in the Western Knobs region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 390 to 1090 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1785 from Jefferson county. Nelson county was a source of Washington (1792), Green (1793), Hardin (1793), Bullitt (1797), and Spencer (1824) counties. The county seat is Bardstown.

In 2020 the county population was 46,738 in a land area of 417.51 square miles, an average of 111.9 people per square mile.

The equine population was 2,800 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Nelson county is in the Bardstown micro statistical area and the Lincoln Trail Area Development District.

Nelson county was formed while the territory was part of Virginia and named for Thomas Nelson, a Virginia governor and signer of the Declaration of Independence.

Many of the early settlers in the county were Roman Catholic and a diocese was established in Bardstown in 1808, where the Saint Joseph Proto-Cathedral was completed about 1825. Nelson county is home to the Abbey of Gethsemani and the Sisters of Charity of Nazareth.

Whiskey has been produced commercially in Nelson county since 1844 and it is still home to several distilleries. The Oscar Getz Museum of Whiskey History is located in Bardstown.

Census Census Data Nelson County Details Kentucky Counties Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Adair County Allen County Anderson County Ballard County Barren County Bath County Bell County Boone County Bourbon County Boyd County Boyle County Bracken County Breathitt County Breckinridge County Bullitt County Butler County Caldwell County Calloway County Campbell County Carlisle County Carroll County Carter County Casey County Christian County Clark County Clay County Clinton County Crittendon County Cumberland County Edmonson County Elliott County Estill County Fayette County Fleming County Floyd County Franklin County Gallatin County Fulton County Garrard County Grant County Graves County Grayson County Green County Greenup County Hancock County Hardin County Harlan County Harrison County Hart County Henderson County Henry County Hopkins County Jackson County Jefferson County Jessamine County Johnson County Kenton County Knott County Knox County LaRue County Laurel County Lawrence County Lee County Leslie County Letcher County Lewis County Lincoln County Livingston County Logan County Lyon County McCracken County McCreary County McLean County Madison County Magoffin County Marion County Marshall County Mason County Martin County Meade County Menifee County Mercer County Metcalfe County Monroe County Montgomery County Morgan County Muhlenberg County Nelson County Nicholas County Ohio County Oldham County Owen County Owsley County Pendleton County Perry County Pike County Powell County Pulaski County Robertson County Rockcastle County Rowan County Russell County Scott County Shelby County Simpson County Spencer County Taylor County Todd County Trigg County Trimble County Union County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Webster County Whitley County Wolfe County Woodford County Daviess County Hickman County State of West Virginia State of Ohio Commonwealth of Virginia State of Tennessee State of Missouri State of Illinois State of Indiana

© 2023 David C. Elbon