Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Harlan County, Kentucky

Harlan county is in the Eastern Coal Field region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 1070 to 4145 feet above sea level, the highest in the state.

It was formed in 1819 from Knox county. Harlan county was a source of Letcher (1842) and Bell (1867) counties. The county seat is Harlan.

In 2020 the county population was 26,831 in a land area of 465.83 square miles, an average of 57.6 people per square mile.

The equine population was 200 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Harlan county is in the Cumberland Valley Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Harlan county was named for Silas Harlan, an early settler who fought in the American Revolution and died at Blue Licks in 1782.

Several mountains run through the county, including Pine and Black. The highest point in Kentucky is on Black Mountain just outside Lynch. Coal mining and logging have long been the principle industries in the county and several of its towns, including Lynch and Benham, began as mining camps.

Cumberland is the home of Southeast Community and Technical College. The Pine Mountain Settlement School is in the town of Pine Mountain.

Kingdom Come State Park and Pine Mountain Trail State Park Nature Preserve are on Pine Mountain. The James E. Bickford State Nature Preserve and the Blanton Forest State Nature Preserve, perhaps the largest tract of old-growth forest in the state, are also located in the county.

Census Census Data Harlan County Details Kentucky Counties Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Adair County Allen County Anderson County Ballard County Barren County Bath County Bell County Boone County Bourbon County Boyd County Boyle County Bracken County Breathitt County Breckinridge County Bullitt County Butler County Caldwell County Calloway County Campbell County Carlisle County Carroll County Carter County Casey County Christian County Clark County Clay County Clinton County Crittendon County Cumberland County Edmonson County Elliott County Estill County Fayette County Fleming County Floyd County Franklin County Gallatin County Fulton County Garrard County Grant County Graves County Grayson County Green County Greenup County Hancock County Hardin County Harlan County Harrison County Hart County Henderson County Henry County Hopkins County Jackson County Jefferson County Jessamine County Johnson County Kenton County Knott County Knox County LaRue County Laurel County Lawrence County Lee County Leslie County Letcher County Lewis County Lincoln County Livingston County Logan County Lyon County McCracken County McCreary County McLean County Madison County Magoffin County Marion County Marshall County Mason County Martin County Meade County Menifee County Mercer County Metcalfe County Monroe County Montgomery County Morgan County Muhlenberg County Nelson County Nicholas County Ohio County Oldham County Owen County Owsley County Pendleton County Perry County Pike County Powell County Pulaski County Robertson County Rockcastle County Rowan County Russell County Scott County Shelby County Simpson County Spencer County Taylor County Todd County Trigg County Trimble County Union County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Webster County Whitley County Wolfe County Woodford County Daviess County Hickman County State of West Virginia State of Ohio Commonwealth of Virginia State of Tennessee State of Missouri State of Illinois State of Indiana

© 2023 David C. Elbon