Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Spencer County, Kentucky

Spencer county is in the Outer Bluegrass region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 420 to 880 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1824 from Bullitt, Jefferson, and Shelby counties. The county seat is Taylorsville.

In 2020 the county population was 19,490 in a land area of 186.68 square miles, an average of 104.4 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,000 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Spencer county is in the Louisville/Jefferson County metro statistical area and the KIPDA Area Development District.

Spencer county was named to honor Spears Spencer, who served in the Kentucky militia and was killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811.

Census Census Data Spencer County Seat Spencer County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Taylorsville Lake State Park Taylorsville, Kentucky Shelby County, Kentucky Anderson County, Kentucky Nelson County, Kentucky Bullitt County, Kentucky Jefferson County, Kentucky

© 2023 David C. Elbon