Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Calloway County, Kentucky

Calloway county is in the Jackson Purchase region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 359 to 640 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1823 from Hickman county. The county seat is Murray. Calloway county was a source of Marshall (1842) county.

In 2020 the county population was 37,103 in a land area of 385.02 square miles, an average of 96.4 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,900 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Calloway county is in the Murray micro statistical area and the Purchase Area Development District.

Calloway county was named to honor Colonel Richard Callaway, an early settler who was killed at Boonesborough. The reason for the change in spelling isn't known.

Census Census Data Calloway County Seat Calloway County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Bethel, Kentucky Murray, Kentucky Hazel, Kentucky Kenlake State Resort Park Wadesboro, Kentucky Graves County, Kentucky Marshall County, Kentucky Trigg County, Kentucky State of Tennessee

© 2023 David C. Elbon